The province of Malevizi at the eastern foothills of Psiloritis Range still impresses with its religious monuments and the deserted countryside monasteries. The rugged mountainous terrain has formed a special cultural center.
The monastery of Chrysopigi is built in a wooded ravine with plane trees by the village Pirgou but now does not operate. A spring is located in the courtyard of the monastery. Next to the church there are the remains of winepress and olive mill.
The Venetian monastery of Jerusalem is located at village Loutraki but now does not operate. The monastery was a center of revolutionary activity against the Turks and refuge for some of the most famous chieftains of Crete.
The wonderful location Hymeftou near the village Moni houses the scenic church dedicated to St. George and the Holy Cross. This was the site of the monastery of the Holy Cross which was a dependency of the monastery Kavallaras at Korfes.
On the day of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross (September 14) celebrates the Monastery of Stavromenos located just outside the village Avgeniki, province Malevyzi, next to the picturesque settlement Vlahiana. The deserted monastery is one of the many monasteries founded in Crete during the Venetian domination and reaching their heyday till the arrival of the Turks, after which the monastery was slowly deserted. Today we meet some remains of the monastery buildings (part of the walls of monk cells), a base of a limestone-carved winepress and a trough. Around the church we see many trees, vineyards and olive groves.
The current deserted monastery of St Savas is located at a degraded location of Heraklion (next to the industries of cement and fuel at Ellinoperamata). The monastery was founded in the 10th century by Nicephorus Phocas.
The temple of Panagia Faneromeni is located in a wooded location of the village Kerasia, on the sides of the beautiful gorge of Kerasia (continuation of the gorge of St. Anthony). The view around is really unique. The current temple was built on the site of a ruined Venetian church in 1914.
Just outside and south of village Tylissos we meet the small cavernous temple of the Life Giving Spring (Zoodohos Pigi) at location Loutra. The name Loutra is met in various parts of Crete and means the place where there is water. Indeed, behind the picturesque chapel there is one spring that waters the area of Tylisos.
The monastery of Panagia Deligara, Ligaria or Ligariotissa operated at the site that we meet today the church of Panagia (Our Lady) near Ligaria Beach. The monastery is mentioned in a document of 1610 as Panagia Deligara.