The lighthouse of Gavdos is built a few meters south of the village Ambelos at an altitude of 368m, at the west coastline. Constructed in 1880 by the French Company for Lighthouses and was visible at a distance of 42 miles (the second longest distance in the world since then, after the lighthouse of Tierra del Fuego).
The lighthouse was rotating so it was visible from all sides of Gavdos island. The lighthouse operated with oil and wick. Around the lighthouse there are still building remains that served as homes for the keepers and warehouses.
The lighthouse and the surrounding buildings were bombed by the Germans in May 1942 and reconstructed in 2003. The unique architectural lighthouse monument today operates as a small museum and cafe.