Temple and Graves of Ten Saints

Agii Deka

Temple of Ten Saints (Agii Deka)
(1 Vote)

The village Agii Deka (Ten Saints) is named after the ten Cretan Christians that martyred there during the persecutions carried out by Decius in 250 AD. At the point where they martyred, at position Alonion, there is the three-aisled basilica of the 12th century.

The first temple was built into the arena of the amphitheater of Gortyn where the Saints were beheaded. Indeed, the central aisle is built at a lower level than the rest two, which corresponds to the level of the arena. The church has since undergone many changes and there are frescoes of the initial era.

Agia Limni

A few meters nearby, at the point where the Ten Saints were buried, there are the graves and the church of Agia Limni. The Saints’ names were Agathopos, Basilides, Gelasios , Evarestos , Evnikianos , Efporos, Zotikos, Theodoulos, Pompios and Saturninos.

The marble plaque where the saints are said to have kneeled before their decapitation is stored in a special showcase in the church of Saints Ten. The temple celebrates on December 23.

hotels booking Crete

Additional Info

  • Location: Heraklion Prefecture
  • Type: Church
  • Accessibility: Paved road

Also read:

Download Free Premium Joomla Templates • FREE High-quality Joomla! Designs BIGtheme.net