The Monastery of Saint George in Xera Xyla
The monastery of Xera Xyla is located in the province of Mirabello, near the village Kourounes. The central temple is dedicated to Saint George and today is uninhabited. The complex consists of the domed church of St. George, surrounded by several fortress-like cells and a two-storey building.
History in brief
- 1635: Ioannis Fouskis founds the monastery in position Xera Xyla and builds the old church of St. George.
- 1912: The present church of St. George is built, with cross-shaped architecture, a unique architecture in the entire region.
- 1976: The monk Neophytos Lykakis from the monastery of Agios Georgios Epanosifis leaves the monastery and it gets deserted.
- 1977: The Agency of the Monasterial Property rents the monastery to shepherds and they settle in this with their herds, causing incalculable damage to the complex.
- 1999: The monastery is granted to the Monastery of Saint George Epanosifis.
- 2006: The Agency of the Monasterial Property evicts the shepherds and starts the restoration of the monastery.